cancel
Showing results forย 
Search instead forย 
Did you mean:ย 

Hitch ball grease

Nvr_lost
Explorer
Explorer
I am new to travel trailers. How often do I need to put grease on the hitch ball? What kind do I buy and where do I find it?
52 REPLIES 52

Scooter86
Explorer
Explorer
I always use a little dab before a tow. Usually white lithium. You can buy spray on meant for lubing bike or motorcycle chains. A little expensive, but I always have some around for the toys anyways. I much prefer minimal noise from that area while underway.

IndyCamp
Explorer
Explorer
I don't grease the ball or the WDH and probably never will.

I don't care if it is loud and probably never will. It's no louder than the maniac kid at the next campsite who is running around trying to find a squirrel to smash with his baseball bat, or the Jethros a few sites down who want to see the sun come up while drinking another bottle of Jim Beam and playing cornhole/washers/horseshoes. :C
2018 Grand Design Reflection 315RLTS
2014 RAM 2500 6.4L HEMI

JAYHAWKERS
Explorer
Explorer
Any type of grease will do for the ball. But do not grease your weight distribution/anti sway bars (Equal-i-zer type). The contact points where the bars meet need the friction to do their job, and grease defeats the purpose.

K_Charles
Explorer
Explorer
I don't think a hitch ball cost any more then a tub of ball grease. You can get a 20,000 lb ball for about 12 or 15 dollars. Ours is about 15 years old and if it ever wares out I will buy a new one and I still won't put grease on it

phillyg
Explorer II
Explorer II
I never grease my balls.
--2005 Ford F350 Lariat Crewcab 6.0, 4x4, 3.73 rear
--2016 Montana 3711FL, 40'
--2014 Wildcat 327CK, 38' SOLD

SabreCanuck
Explorer
Explorer
I use White Lithium grease and inspect once or twice every year and have zero issues...