cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

I'm curious ?

Dakota98
Explorer
Explorer
Having just read a posting by Muddydogs & his unfortunate discovery today concerning his 2015 TT. I really wonder about the construction of newer TT's in specific & RV's in general.

It seems that for the most part there is a wide range of poor craftsmanship and they are being made with lighter weight materials, which isn't all bad, but lending itself to in some cases to poor durability.

My question is this. What size TT & year model do you own & what is it's UVW ?

I have a 2000, 22' Nomad Lite. I think by todays standards, it's no where near the weight of a comparable 22' standard, lite or ultra lite TT. My UVW is 4180 lbs.

I'm an expert in only one field....I believe it's somewhere in Kansas.

2000 / 22' SKYLINE NOMAD LITE
1998 DODGE DAKOTA / 5.2L= 8mpg.
2006 POLARIS ATV
1500/1200 Watt Champion generator
Yada Wireless Back Up Camera
1998 Dyna Wide Glide
USMC 68-74
14 REPLIES 14

westend
Explorer
Explorer
1971 Starcraft Wanderstar--half laden weight, just North of 5K.
Just after restoration and before solar and batteries were added, it was around 4800. That weight is 400 lbs. above the factory weight published in the brochure.
So, in 1971 the UVW was 4,400 lbs. The brochure shows it being pulled by a big Mercury sedan.
'03 F-250 4x4 CC
'71 Starcraft Wanderstar -- The Cowboy/Hilton

oakbowery
Explorer
Explorer
2009 Cherokee 31B, 7714 uvw and 10,874 gvwr.
2001 Dodge 2500 Cummins w/ 4:10 Rear
2009 Cherokee 31B TT

rbpru
Explorer II
Explorer II
Cost will win out over quality for many because they do not feel they can justify a more expensive TT for a few trips a year.

It is no different than golf clubs, fishing gear, bicycles, musical instruments and a host of other hobbies. When you are not sure, you are hesitant to spend a lot.