cancel
Showing results forย 
Search instead forย 
Did you mean:ย 

Need advice on an RV GPS?

temccarthy1
Explorer
Explorer
Need advice from Rv'ers on whether it is worth purchasing a GPS made specifically for RV's to avoid ending up on roads a 30 ft TT should not be on. I am new to Rv'ing and plan on taking trips to states and areas I am not familiar with. I see RV GPS's , like the one Good Sam/ Rand McNally advertises, for about $300, which is substantially more than a regular car GPS that I already have in my truck... Are they really effective in giving the driver the correct and easiest navigable routes specifically for trailer rigs, or are they just loaded with locations of Good Sam campgrounds and other POI's? Would like to hear from those of you who actually own an RV GPS to see if you feel it is worth the $. Thanks!
Tim, Ramona and dog Scruffy
1982 Coleman Sun Valley PUP (retired)
2014 Keystone Bullet 285RLS Ultralite TT
2013 Ford Expedition XLT 5.4L Triton V8
Equalizer E2 hitch
38 REPLIES 38

Tom_Barb
Explorer
Explorer
We carry my desk top computer and google maps
2000 Newmar mountain aire 4081 DP, ISC/350 Allison 6 speed, Wrangler JL toad.

aslakson
Explorer
Explorer
My vote's for the Garmin dezl 760 - it's the trucker's unit, but also has RV profiles (Height, weight, length, etc.) 7" screen makes it big enough to see in a big RV cockpit. Might have to load some campground POI files - but all the fuel stops are there. If you have a smart phone, there's a free Garmin APP that will link to the unit for realtime weather, gas prices, road info, etc. And the free Garmin Base Camp software lets you build trips on a laptop and load them into the GPS (my preference). As with any routing aid, it's probably not perfect, but so far haven't found any flaws.

al
Fulltiming since Apr 2007 in 2000 Rexhall Aerbus, towing 2012 Honda CRV. 47 of the lower 48 so far.

rbpru
Explorer
Explorer