cancel
Showing results forย 
Search instead forย 
Did you mean:ย 

Need advice on an RV GPS?

temccarthy1
Explorer
Explorer
Need advice from Rv'ers on whether it is worth purchasing a GPS made specifically for RV's to avoid ending up on roads a 30 ft TT should not be on. I am new to Rv'ing and plan on taking trips to states and areas I am not familiar with. I see RV GPS's , like the one Good Sam/ Rand McNally advertises, for about $300, which is substantially more than a regular car GPS that I already have in my truck... Are they really effective in giving the driver the correct and easiest navigable routes specifically for trailer rigs, or are they just loaded with locations of Good Sam campgrounds and other POI's? Would like to hear from those of you who actually own an RV GPS to see if you feel it is worth the $. Thanks!
Tim, Ramona and dog Scruffy
1982 Coleman Sun Valley PUP (retired)
2014 Keystone Bullet 285RLS Ultralite TT
2013 Ford Expedition XLT 5.4L Triton V8
Equalizer E2 hitch
38 REPLIES 38

W_E_BGood
Explorer
Explorer
2oldman wrote:
When someone insists on speaking turn-by-turn directions to me, I politely listen, forget all of it, and use my GPS.

How true!

2oldman
Explorer II
Explorer II
When someone insists on speaking turn-by-turn directions to me, I politely listen, forget all of it, and use my GPS.
"If I'm wearing long pants, I'm too far north" - 2oldman

ktmrfs
Explorer
Explorer
Lantley wrote:
An RV type GPS is worthwhile and an improvement over a non RV model.
However its not foolproof.
It will not tell you what gas station to use nor will it direct you to avoid rush hour traffic.
It will attempt to take you on an RV safe route and avoid small streets and low clearances.
I have a Garmin RV 760 with the integrated BC-20 backup camera and it has worked well for 3 years now.
However I generally review the suggested route and ensure it is the most direct way. For the most part the route is chosen by the Garmin meets my needs.