cancel
Showing results forย 
Search instead forย 
Did you mean:ย 

New to campers - purchased a 1991 Palomino - Good camper?

BlissRamblyn
Explorer
Explorer
I am new to campers. I used to tent camp but with a little baby and a heavy work schedule that isn't much of a reality. So we purchased a 1991 Palomino soft side truck camper. It's fully functional and seemed like a good deal at $500 with a set of Happijac tie downs. We got it home and noticed it does have a leak and there is some water damage around one of the jack mounts.

Is Palomino a good brand? Is the system which raises and lowers the top reliable? Do they stand behind there product and are replacement parts for the top mechanism available? Is this a camper worth putting time and money into?
15 REPLIES 15

BlissRamblyn
Explorer
Explorer
SidecarFlip wrote:
BlissRamblyn wrote:
Thanks for all the replies. Of course the day after I bought it I saw a Real-lite 1983 hard side. Original owner, stored in doors, no leaks ever. Only $1100. I'm thinking of grabbing it and selling the Palomino for what I paid. I used to backpack a lot so a truck size camper is perfect.

It might not be......

Real Lites have build issues, well documented on many forums. I suggest you do some searching on them.

No matter what you buy, ANY used camper of any vintage will probably have water intrusion issues, You better look over any used unit real closely, no matter what the price point is.

Oftentimes, what appears to be a 'silk purse' is really a 'sow's ear' inside, between the inner walls and the outer skin.

I've listed in previous threads on this forum just how to look for and what to look for and where concerning water intrusion and the obvious signs of rot and mold.

Sometimes, what appears on the outside to be a nice unit is really ready for the landfill.

Guess that is why I always buy new and even then, there can be issues.

What build issues? Do you have a link or more specifics? I can't find much about them online.