cancel
Showing results forย 
Search instead forย 
Did you mean:ย 

new to rv life.

fieldtech03
Explorer
Explorer
I'm new to the whole rv life. I haven't bought one yet but I looked at a 97 Dutchman for $4700. Outside is in really good condition but the pilot won't light for the fridge. I'm just wondering if it's a fair price for the unit. Any feedback is appreciated.
17 REPLIES 17

rbpru
Explorer II
Explorer II
I second Dick Bโ€™s comment on renting, you can learn a lot in a week or so. Also, you are not stuck with a TT when a MH would have been a better choice etc.

The DW and I rented one for 10 days for about $100.00/day. We learned a lot about floor plan, towing and TV requirements.
Twenty six foot 2010 Dutchmen Lite pulled with a 2011 EcoBoost F-150 4x4.

Just right for Grandpa, Grandma and the dog.

jaycocreek
Explorer II
Explorer II
You can get an RV refrigerator cooling unit for $3-500 with a 2-3 year warranty.Know need to spend $1000 on a new refer for a used unit.I have done it more than once because most people don't think it is that important to have the refer as level as possible and it's a slow death,especially the older ones.
Lance 9.6
400 watts solar mounted/200 watts portable
500ah Lifep04

Hoosier_Daddy
Explorer
Explorer
oldmattb wrote:
Probably,...
Engine or transmission replacement would likely be more than the $4700. Tires are expensive - check condition AND....
Tell us more!

Matt B

Engine? Trans? Isn't this a TT??
TT: 2005 Coachmen 248TBG "Spirit of America"
TV: 2013 Ford F150 S/Cab 4X4

colliehauler
Explorer III
Explorer III
If the TT was in very good condition and clean (no water damage) with new tires, battery and everything working it would be worth $4700.

Battery and tires $500 Frig $1000 if need replaced. I would offer $2500 to $3000. in order to cover repairs.

I sold a mint 1999 Damon 30' TT for $4900 2 years ago.

Edit-I did not realize RVCircus said the same thing.