cancel
Showing results forย 
Search instead forย 
Did you mean:ย 

Taken all the steps to prevent sway. Still swaying. Help!

KevinBerting
Explorer
Explorer
I'm out of ideas and need help. I have been camping for 8 years in a pop up, and just upgraded to out first TT. I should mention that I drive pretty large commercial vehicles with buckets and outriggers daily and am comfortable towing large, very heavy trailers at work. I'm no rookie, yet I'm feeling at a loss here.

Towing our TT is a white knuckle experience everytime. A little wind or a passing truck is sending me into a fish tailing nightmare multiple times per trip. I have a properly installed and tensioned weight distribution hitch plus a sway bar. I am loading the trailer with as much of the weight low and forward as I can. I just put new tires on the trailer with proper inflation. The ride level is great with the right drop on my hitch. I have trailer brakes that are working well to slow it down as needed on declines. My tow vehicle is a brand new 2017 Ram 2500 with far more than enough tow capacity. Everything in my set up says I should be able to tow this thing easily and comfortably, yet I am constantly on high alert! What else could I be missing?

Our travel trailer is a 2010 Keystone Hideout 26 BH. 26 feet long plus tongue and no slideouts. Dry weight is 5100. I did flip the axles as soon as we bought it, because it sat very low and I wanted better ground clearance. I know this could affect stability somewhat, but considering my larger tow vehicle and WD hitch with sway bar, this shouldn't be causing that big of issues, right? The WD hitch is used. Is it possible the bars are bent or malfunctioning? They are the type with the chains hooking them to the trailer tongue. Could my sway bar just be shot? What else could possibly be going on here? I need to get this trailer moving safely down the road. I can't keep fighting it every trip out.