cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Thor or Forest River - Warranty and reputation

blaczero
Explorer
Explorer
I am looking at 2 RV's and wondering which company has better warranty reputation / customer service / repair reputation, etc.

(Forest River) 2021 Coachmen Catalina Legacy Edition 343BHTSLE

and

(Thor) 2021 Crossroads Zinger 340BH

Both the floor plan we want (BH and w/d hookups with East/West bed) and both the same'ish price. So who has better customer service / warranty / repair service?

Any other thoughts? I am pretty new to this, it'll be my first RV.
34 REPLIES 34

Skibane
Explorer II
Explorer II
Thermoguy wrote:
Unless your looking at new and the 1 year warranty that comes with an RV, then how does the question apply?

Good point.

The only compelling reason to take an RV back to one of their dealers is to have warranty work done on it - And that only applies until the warranty expires.

Just about every appliance and fixture in the average RV is generic, and also commonly installed in other brands of RVs. Any competent independent service shop is familiar with it, and capable of troubleshooting, repairing or replacing it.

Unlike the warranty, an RV manufacturer's reputation is important. RVs built by manufacturers with established reputations for quality tend to need fewer repairs.

It's no different than buying cars: If you're concerned about reliability, you look for certain brands, and avoid certain others.

klutchdust
Explorer II
Explorer II
"The RV Industry's warranties are the largest shell game ever created and its amazing they have gotten away with it as long as they have."

most if not all warranties are for the benefit of the seller. Consumer reports says 70% of extended warranties are never used.
i purchased over 30 tires the past few years for my fleet, denied the tire warranty every time .I have 540 dollars in my tire warranty "self insure" account. I had to replace one tire myself ,now I am down to 380.