cancel
Showing results forย 
Search instead forย 
Did you mean:ย 

Tundra Tundra camper compatibility

826storm
Explorer
Explorer
Hello All, I have what is probably a somewhat annoying question concerning camper weight and towing capacity. I have a pretty good feeling I'm ok but I'm no expert and I would really appreciate some insight from many of you that truly are experts. I have a 2015 5.7 Tundra Crewmax 4x4 with a towing capacity of 9800 lbs. I am strongly considering driving 5 hrs. away this weekend to purchase a 2015 Keystone Sprinter 299RET with a dry weight of 8153#s. From my understanding and math I think I'm good right? Any thoughts? Have I overlooked or misunderstood anything here? Thanks in advance for your help.
32 REPLIES 32

goducks10
Explorer
Explorer
camp-n-family wrote:
trailer_newbe wrote:
I tow the below trailer with my 2008 CrewMax with the factory tow package. I have installed the TRD sway bar, Bilstein shocks, and Firestone airbags. My truck has a tow rating of 10,400 lbs, with a hitch weight of 1,385. I tow ok, but obviously the trailer came long after the truck. With 55,000 miles on my truck, Iโ€™m going to use it. Salt River Canyon is next, should be fun?

Unless you have an aftermarket hitch, there is no Tundra that has a 1385lbs hitch rating. The 2nd gen Tundras (before the new SAE tow standards) had receivers rated for a max of 10 percent of the tow rating. The highest tow rating for those years was 10,500lb making the max rating 1050lbs.

Ruh Roh

camp-n-family
Explorer
Explorer
trailer_newbe wrote:
I tow the below trailer with my 2008 CrewMax with the factory tow package. I have installed the TRD sway bar, Bilstein shocks, and Firestone airbags. My truck has a tow rating of 10,400 lbs, with a hitch weight of 1,385. I tow ok, but obviously the trailer came long after the truck. With 55,000 miles on my truck, Iโ€™m going to use it. Salt River Canyon is next, should be fun?