cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

electricity at the campsite

liliawakaka
Explorer
Explorer

Hi, I'm new here. I'm planning to go camping, but I'm a beginner and have some questions. Do campsites require an extra fee for electricity? If so, how much is it usually? I'm trying to plan my budget. If I choose a campsite without electricity, how do people usually get power? Do they use portable power stations, generators, or something else? How much electricity is typically needed for a camping trip? I'm considering investing in a portable power station, but I'm not sure if it's worth it or how long it would take to break even. Could someone who has purchased one share their experience?😁Thanks!!!

5 REPLIES 5

StirCrazy
Navigator
Navigator

lots of way to do this, if you treat the trailer like a tent with a stove and use very little power, you could get away with no power and a couple good batteries.  My forst trailer was a 28 foot and we were very stingy on power.  with for 6V batteries I could easily got for 2 weeks in the summer, but all we would use for power is the lights in the camper pretty much.  when I got my 5th wheel I got solar put on and transfered the 6V batteries from the camper to it and now I never have to worry about power, but I don't use the AC and I still watch my power usage limiting the kids to 1 movie a night and I use the keurig in the morning and after supper, and limited microwave of 10 min a day.  this also includes the furnace in the fall.  

now if you have a 12V only fridge that adds another factor as they require battery power so a good battery bank is going to be essential