cancel
Showing results forย 
Search instead forย 
Did you mean:ย 

Good Sam - what's in it for the campgrounds?

el_jefe1
Explorer
Explorer
There are a lot of good Sam participating parks that give discounts for this very cheap membership. I'm just wondering, what's in it for the park? Is it just hoping to get a little extra business by drawing in good Sam members? Or are there any other benefits to the park owners?
2018 Keystone Passport 3290bh
2007 Chevy Express 3500
Me, the Wife, and a whole bunch of kids
27 REPLIES 27

solismaris
Explorer
Explorer
I finally realized I haven't used my campground directory that I've been carrying for 15 years. Threw it out. Internet and cell phones have made them obsolete. I cannot imagine a campground operator paying $1000s to stay on that list in this day and age.

(And for me, a Good Sam listing is an anti-advert; I'd prefer a more independent or primitive campground that is NOT on the list and would actively avoid the Good Sam park if given the choice. But that's just me.)
David Kojen

JAC1982
Explorer
Explorer
TinyoneRV wrote:
JAC1982 wrote:
Before the internet was a "thing", you had to rely on things like Good Sam or AAA to tell you which spots were the best rated. I'm in my mid-30s, and I remember my mom planning our trips using the AAA guidebook when I was a kid. Nowadays, you can go on various websites and read reviews from actual people who stayed there recently, to see if the spot is worth a stay. Once a book is published it can become immediately out of date. So I don't blame RV park owners for wanting to ditch it and just rely on internet advertising and word of mouth since that is more up to date and in many cases, free or low cost.