cancel
Showing results forย 
Search instead forย 
Did you mean:ย 

Suggestions Please for first Snow Birding to Arizona

rkassl
Explorer
Explorer
This finally could be the first winter we try to escape to the warmth of Arizona for the winter. I have never done this before that is booking a place for 3-4 months in one area. Can some of you experienced Snow Birds suggest a few places to check out? We would be looking for more of a resort type property with the usual amenities. When you folks go down to Arizona do you normally stay at one place for the duration or do you move around? I would like to stay more rural if possible rather than being in a busy urban area. If anyone can help us with some suggestions to begin to explore I would greatly appreciate it.

Happy Camping!
2015 Montana 3440RL Legacy Edition
PullRite Super 5th 20K hitch
Morryde Pin Box
Dish Tailgater and King Tailgater Satellite Systems
2016 GMC Sierra Denali 3500 SRW CC full bed
28 REPLIES 28

Me_Again
Explorer II
Explorer II
Thunder Mountain wrote:
DO NOT LOCK IN ONE RESORT NO MATTER HOW HIGHLY RATED FOR YOUR FIRST SNOWBIRD! Now that I have yelled, AZ is a big place with many wonderful places and resorts. We are on year 5 of a multi-month snowbird. We have yet to stay in one place more than a month. Next year we are branching out to Indio, CA for a month. Suggest that you use this forum and rvparkreviews.com and select 3 or 4 resorts the first year.

These come to mind from our experiences: Canyon Vistas at Gold Canyon; Palms Resort, Yuma; McDowell Regional Park, Fountain Hills; Desert Trails, Tucson; Lazy Days KOA, Tucson; and Distant Drums, Camp Verde. These will give you a slice of local life and attractions as well as interesting resorts. Each location and resort has its own unique qualities.