Search instead forย 
Did you mean:ย 

Thousand Trails - Lake Minden - Our first trip in our new TT

aussy
Explorer
Explorer
This is a companion article to our travel trailer buying experience:
http://forums.goodsamclub.com/Index.cfm/fuseaction/thread/tid/27055525.cfm

This was our VERY first trip in our new trailer mentioned in the article above.

I am a newbie to Rv'ing so this review is as honest as it gets.

Over all: For our first time out RV'ing, we really liked it and had a VERY positive experience.

We did not realize that Lake Minden Ca was a Thousand Trails membership campground until after we got there. We chose Lake Minden because it had a lake, we could get reservations at the last minute and it was only an hour and half from where we live. The perfect spot for our "maiden" trip.

Given we had never done the RV "thing" before, we had no idea what to expect. We definitely learned a lot on this first trip.

We figured when we made our reservation that we had reserved a "spot" and that when we got there we would be subject to the desk clerks whims as to what spot we got especially given we did not reserve until late. Thankfully, we arrived early(Noon) and learned that all spots(except for the annual reserved spots) are first come first served and since we arrived on a Thursday morning we had a pretty good selection. THAT was surprise #1. Apparently, ALL Thousand Trails campgrounds have been converted to this model.Good news for people who get there early, bad news for those who do not.

During check in a young man was called up and extolled the virtues of a Thousand Trails Zone Pass. This was reminiscent of the time share sales of old. We took a pass on it.

Once of the things we did ask about during check in was where the "beaches" were. The staff was very patient and pointed them out to us as well as the amenities(bathrooms, showers, boat rentals etc).

So....off we went to find our camping spot.