cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Proper method to install tie down anchors on roof?

juggledog
Explorer
Explorer
I need to install some tie down anchors on the edge of my RV roof. Here are the ones I'm thinking of purchasing:

https://www.amazon.com/Aluminum-Cleat-Cargo-Anchor-Trailer/dp/B00R57781U/

I'm nervous to drill into the roof, this is my first RV. It's a 2005 Class C Fourwinds 5000.

Can someone please explain the proper step by step method I need to follow to properly install these (like how do I find the side frame on the roof to make sure I'm drilling into the proper place?), and make sure the holes don't end up leaking (what product to use for sealant, etc). I'm a complete newbie.

thank you
15 REPLIES 15

bighatnohorse
Explorer II
Explorer II
It depends on how the roof is constructed.
Many roofs are simply 1/8" ply over foam along with some structural cross beams.
For my solar panel mounting I used well nuts. (Google them on YouTube to see how they work)
The entire roof will have to tear off before those well nuts pull out. Yes, I used Dicor over the top of the well nut bolts.
2021 Arctic Fox 1150
'15 F350 6.7 diesel dually long bed
Eagle Cap Owners
“The best lack all conviction, while the worst
Are full of passionate intensity."
-Yeats

juggledog
Explorer
Explorer
thanks for the link. I just ordered it. Wish me luck!

IAMICHABOD wrote:
juggledog wrote:

Can you show me which Dicor I should purchase? Are they available at Home Depot?

This is what you need.I have never seen it at Home Depot,they do have it at Camping World.

Dicor Self Leveling

RollandB
Explorer
Explorer
I've not sen Dicor products at Home Centers, they can usually be found at RV stores/dealers or Amazon
2013 Yukon

2021 Coachmen Spirit 1943RB

tinner12002
Explorer
Explorer
Hopefully there are cross members in the roof structure that would be best to hit rather than just screwing into the roof sheeting.