cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Adding a rear hitch...

nguyenbio
Explorer
Explorer
I have a Grand Design 303rls towed by a 2015 F350 FX4 CCLB SRW. I am way under weight on all numbers and am wanting to add a rear hitch to the fiver to pull a utility trailer with my SXS on it. I will be under length and weight with double towing. I know the laws and regs since I am a LEO officer here.

My question is for those who have added the hitch. Experiences, problems, warning, successes, advice in terms of adding the hitch and towing concerns?

Thank you in advance for sharing!
Joe
2014 Ford F250 6.7L Crewcab Beast
2014 Grand Design Reflections 303RLS
26 REPLIES 26

me2
Explorer
Explorer
The welding shop should be able to talk you through if you need to beef up the frame.
Ironically, I've found that most welding shops are pretty poor at figuring out where structures need to be beefed up.

I put a hitch on the back of my 5er. If the hitch weight of the towed trailer is low, I don't think it affects the TV ride that much. I've never found it to be an issue.

I think towing doubles is fine for light trailers, less than 2,000 pounds. Once it gets above that, I worry that the 5er frame isn't up to the forces that a larger trailer could put on it.

Whatever you do, stay under the weight rating of your pin box and truck hitch.

If the second trailer is sufficiently heavy, you'll need to wire a brake feed for it.

I have towed small boats behind my 5er. You literally don't know they are back there. A backup camera on the back of the 5er is an excellent idea so you can actually see what is going on.

I'm typically over length, but nobody has stopped me or complained. I get lots of gawks though.

Not being able to back up is a huge pain, particularly when getting fuel.