cancel
Showing results forย 
Search instead forย 
Did you mean:ย 

Feed back wanted on the "Real" Top Brands

Expediter
Explorer
Explorer
Im a total newbie looking first RV, a 5th wheel, and asking for some guidance. Ive been told that Jayco, Heartland are some of the better manufactures however looking for input. It seems that every maker out there has some horror stories on units leaking bad slide assemblies etc.

Any advise as to the "Real" Top brands?
39 REPLIES 39

Ralph_Cramden
Explorer II
Explorer II
jerem0621 wrote:
Imho...If buying new I would buy off of a dealers lot. There can be vast differences in QC from the exact same manufacturer. It can even vary from trailer to trailer with the exact same floor plan and model.

Yes it can, and be about as vast as the Sahara desert.

Ordered our Rockwood Roo in Oct of 2015, it arrived Dec of 2015 as a 2016. A total POS as delivered from the factory. A long story. Refused to purchase it. They had another manufactured which the dealer received in April of 2016 as a 2017. A smaller turd, but a night and day difference in build quality.

It is much better to buy an in stock unit where you can take as much time as you want going over it. When you have a dealer order one from the factory you're taking a chance of them trying to hand you a total POS. If you do order the dealer is going to want some hand money as a deposit. The most important thing is to get this deposit documented as "refundable" for if they do ship you a bill of goods.
Too many geezers, self appointed moderators, experts, and disappearing posts for me. Enjoy. How many times can the same thing be rehashed over and over?

Expediter
Explorer
Explorer