cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Fifth wheel chucking (practical help needed)

Mrernestp
Explorer
Explorer
I am in search of some practical (layman terms) help for fifth wheel chucking.
I am relatively new to fifth wheeling and towing in general.
I have a 29 ft fifth wheel with a 11,000 lb GVWR (older so heavier).
My truck is a 2023 GMC Sierra 2500HD. Not full size but longer bed (6’ 10”) I believe.
Curt flex air hitch (for short bed so it has a longer neck.)
Reese 20k receiver
I have horrific chucking! Teeth grinding, mind numbing, coffee splattering, child waking level jolting over bridge seems ect.
I’m talking horrific.
I need help.
I understand (tell me if I’m wrong), that my pin/hitch weight needs to be 20% of the total trailers GVWR (loaded weight).
If my pin weight is that target, and I’m still experiencing this horrid chucking, WHAT do I do?
I’m going to upgrade to a newer and larger fifth wheel at some point, but to be honest I am terrified the issue will remain and don’t know how to resolve this or identify it before buying another rig.
Is it because it’s such a short trailer or causes too much hitch weight?
Is it because the shocks are old and spungy?
Is my stuff loaded improperly inside trailer? (Note it chucks with or without a load and there’s not much rearranging contents even possible in a small trailer)
Any practical information for a novice would be greatly appreciated.
15 REPLIES 15

Thermoguy
Explorer II
Explorer II
Reading through these suggestions there is not much about the hitch as it relates to the rear axel of the truck. Where is yours, do you have the ability to move the hitch forward or back, up or down?