cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Help me decide on a hitch

vort_max
Explorer
Explorer
I just bought a 2016 Cougar model 244. CW recommended a Anderson Ultimate 5th wheel hitch but I have concerns since I have a Dodge
Ram short bed. I did have a slider hitch before but found it
difficult to back up, especially in a tight, short spaces.

What would you recommend? Do you think the Anderson would still allow for a nearly full turn?
56 REPLIES 56

Cummins12V98
Explorer III
Explorer III
aviator41 wrote:
Wait, I'm confused.

So are you all saying B&W hitches aren't good hitches?

I'm a total newb to towing so I set out to outfit a new truck and landed on the 20K Companion to tow our new 15.5K dry Heartland Oakmont.

It's all new to me. We towed it behind an F350 DRW with the B&W hitch for a couple of hours last weekend and were very happy with the performance of everything. I was expecting "clunks and clangs" from the hitch, but it was as smooth as butter, even when backing the beast down our seriously inclined driveway.

Did I screw up buying the B&W Companion?

You answered your own question. Read what you wrote.

"were very happy with the performance of everything. I was expecting "clunks and clangs" from the hitch, but it was as smooth as butter"

There is not a better non air ride hitch on the market. IMHO you "landed" very well!
2015 RAM LongHorn 3500 Dually CrewCab 4X4 CUMMINS/AISIN RearAir 385HP/865TQ 4:10's
37,800# GCVWR "Towing Beast"

"HeavyWeight" B&W RVK3600

2016 MobileSuites 39TKSB3 highly "Elited" In the stable

2007.5 Mobile Suites 36 SB3 29,000# Combined SOLD

BarneyS
Explorer III
Explorer III
I have spent the last 1/2 hour cleaning up this thread with all the multi quotes and oversized pictures. I have asked before that if you are going to quote someone, to please only quote the part you want and not the whole thread. It makes the thread too hard to read and the pages too long.