cancel
Showing results forย 
Search instead forย 
Did you mean:ย 

Hitching and unhitching a 5th wheel

swburbguy
Explorer
Explorer
I'm a newbie camper 3yrs. I'm thinking of getting a 5th wheel. I have a dumb question to ask. Can 5th wheels be hitched and unhitched from the side?
31 REPLIES 31

Sea_Six
Explorer
Explorer
I'd be concerned about popping the tires off the rims, depending on terrain.

Or might break the bead and lose pressure, at the least.

northmeck0255
Explorer
Explorer
Be very careful you don't poke a hole with the corner of your tailgate. You might consider removing it.
2010 Airstream 27FB Classic Limited
2012 Ram 3500 DRW 4X4

calamus
Explorer
Explorer
JohnnyT wrote:
I think he is asking if the Tow Vehicle has to be in line with the trailer to hitch and unhitch. I have only ever had goosenecks and the answer with a gooseneck is no.

JohnnyT

Im not sure what you are thinking here but I back the goose neck in the shop all the time and the pickup is at least on a 60 degree angle from the trailer. as long as the hitch is over the ball you can back in at any angle. Granted it is easier to back straight on it is possible. Our 5th wheel has the concave corners and you are able to get 80 degree turns the small campsites here are tight to back into so the truck is always 45 degrees or so when unhooking and hooking up.
2015 3500HD Chevy Dually Duramax, 2008 Sundance 2014 22'SSX bennington pontoon

MFL
Nomad II
Nomad II
Some hitches work better than others, when hooking up/ unhooking at an angle. It is more noticeable when the truck is uneven with the trailer.

Jerry

noteven
Explorer III
Explorer III
Yes you can hook up on an angle. Do you have room for the rear of the trailer to swing in and out of the parking spot as you park or leave at an angle?

swburbguy
Explorer
Explorer