cancel
Showing results forย 
Search instead forย 
Did you mean:ย 

Hitching and unhitching a 5th wheel

swburbguy
Explorer
Explorer
I'm a newbie camper 3yrs. I'm thinking of getting a 5th wheel. I have a dumb question to ask. Can 5th wheels be hitched and unhitched from the side?
31 REPLIES 31

christopherglen
Explorer
Explorer
Assuming the pinbox and hitch are capable (most are) of hitching at the angle you want, the only concern is the landing gear being bent from side to side - line the pin up VERY well, have the pinbox height within ~1/4 inch of the hitch, and don't hit it to hard. I would have the pinbox a little high, until the hitch is under it, then raise the landing gear until it makes contact - at an angle tire chocks don't hold the trailer as well when hitching. As far as the frame/springs/rims/tires you will have more stress in a single u-turn then 20 sideways hookups.
2007 Chevrolet 3500 CC/LB Duramax/Dually 4X4 Mine r4tech, Reese Signature Series 18k +slider, duratrac, Titan 62 gallon, diamond eye, Cheetah 64
2011 Keystone Fusion 405 TrailAir & Triglide, Centerpoint, gen-turi, 3 PVX-840T, XANTREX FREEDOM SW3012, G614

oilslick
Explorer
Explorer
My last 5ver the front of the trailer was very close to the rear of the truck and when hooking up the truck needed to be almost straight on. At the time I looked for a folding tailgate as I didn't want a "v" style, I didn't find any for sale but I did come across a device ($20) for holding the tailgate part open allowing the Kingpin to pass over yet gave clearance to the trailer.

nazpaz
Explorer
Explorer
ol Bombero-JC wrote:
nazpaz wrote:
Perhaps you are talking about a Pullrite Superglide hitch? If so, the manual says the hookup and release angle must be no more than 16 degrees.