cancel
Showing results forย 
Search instead forย 
Did you mean:ย 

New to 5th wheel, have questions !!

supercub
Explorer
Explorer
I've been RVing for 20 years all in Class A's, mostly diesel pushers. I'm planning on selling my current 38 ft diesel pusher and downsizing to a smaller 5th wheel. I'm thinking something in the 25 foot range or so. Planning on pulling it with an F-150.
I'll be looking for a used unit and $15,000 or less.
First question.........what should I be aware of a 5th wheel that might be different the a Class A that I'm familiar with.........such as, chassis, axles, hitches.......anything there to be on the lookout for?
Best I can tell I'll be looking back to 2000 year or newer.........is there models to stay away from or ones that are better then others?
Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated.
Thank You.
27 REPLIES 27

FordDiesel250
Explorer
Explorer
Another one that agrees with Southensky. Go with the 2500 and don't look back!

supercub
Explorer
Explorer
I haven't bought a truck yet, just thought a F-150 would be good, now I'm learning otherwise. Good info. Thanks

JIMNLIN
Explorer
Explorer
Not much in common between a rv trailer vs a motor homes other than appliances.
Check out these 5th wheel trailers under 27' clicky link .
I bought my first two truck camper from these folks in the '70s so they have been around many years.

Trailer length doesn't have much in common with a 1/2 ton truck load carrying ability as a 25' 5th wheel trailer gvwrs and hitch weight can vary greatly. As was mentioned a 25' 5th wheel trailer can require a truck with 2000 lbs+ of rear axle payloads.

Which brings up the F150 truck. The F150 has over a dozen different gvwrs but more importantly five different rawrs all depending on year models.
Rawr (rear axle weight rating) will carry all the hitch load....weight of a 5th wheel hitch...other stuff in the bed.