cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

PO'd Rv owner

Rygar
Explorer
Explorer
Right now, I'm sitting here totally pissed off with Rv manufacturers. Last year while driving from the west coast to Toronto and back I had 2 major tire blowouts. This year, I'm planning on a longer trip. East. south, west and then north. So, I decided I needed 4 new tires for my Fifth wheel. I start my research online and talking with tire stores. I also check the forums here. I was a noob before I started this search. No longer. My Montana fifth wheel That max weight is 16,000lbs was delivered with Goodyear Marathon tires rated at 3000lbs. x 4 = 12,000lbs. So, this trailer was destined to fail. The blowouts were inevitable. Do these manufacturers not care one iota about the lives of the people who give them their money. I don't know how they can get away with this. I've only found two tires that would work on my trailer, both 14ply. Sailun and Samson. Sorry, rant over.
2011 Montana 3455SA
2013 Ford F350 4x4 Crew Cab King Ranch SRW
Gary & Jane Retired Toy Store owners
2 Sheltie Furkids Cammie & Stormy
44 REPLIES 44

fj12ryder
Explorer III
Explorer III
IMO the Michelins and Sailuns are not direct competitors. One is an "E" rated at about 3,000 lbs., and the other is "G" rated at over 4,000 lbs. So really price doesn't enter into it too much between the two.
Howard and Peggy

"Don't Panic"

Rygar
Explorer
Explorer
I'm running Michelins on my Tv but they are really pricey, A lot more than the Sailuns.
2011 Montana 3455SA
2013 Ford F350 4x4 Crew Cab King Ranch SRW
Gary & Jane Retired Toy Store owners
2 Sheltie Furkids Cammie & Stormy

laknox
Nomad
Nomad
phillyg wrote:
oldschoolhdmike wrote:
no one running michelins?......

I've heard of some folks running XPS Ribs but I think they're rather expensive.

The Bridgestone Duravis R250 is a near-identical tire and quite a bit cheaper than the Michelins...for that application.

Lyle