cancel
Showing results forย 
Search instead forย 
Did you mean:ย 

Toilet air lock

LINDA53
Explorer
Explorer
Our toilet started to bubble up when we hit the pedal to flush it.
What would cause this to happen? One we plunge
It it seems to improve for awhile but not a long time.
10 REPLIES 10

LINDA53
Explorer
Explorer
thank you for all your responses. We will check them out and see if this clears things up.

Hardcandy
Explorer
Explorer
Sounds like the toilet bowl has something like a pencil or pen or something like that stuck in it. What happens is the object tends to catch the toilet paper and it builds up til you plunge it freeing the paper but not the object then the cycle starts all over again. Try looking up through the the bowl with a small inspection mirror and you may be able to see whats causing you blockage.

PS yes I'm a plumber... ๐Ÿ™‚
TV: 2004.5 Chevy Silverado CCLB 6.6L 3500 DRW, K&N, EFI Live 60hp economy/tow tune, 4" magnaflow exhaust, B&W gooseneck W/ B&W Companion
S&W M&P 40cal in the door pocket...
2012 28.5' Jayco Eagle RLS w/super slide
Ruger 45cal on the nightstand

Beaker
Explorer
Explorer
No bubbles when you first start using it?
Bubbles after a while and then you plunge it and no more bubbles?

Try using more water.
Solids tend to pile up at the bottom and eventually up the tube to the toilet. The sudden rush of "stuff" down the tube causes the trapped air up the tube causing your bubbles or burp.

More water in the tank will help those "solids" to breakdown and float away.

Of course, you could have the dreaded pyramid or clogged air vent, but if it acts as above probably not.
2008 Silverado 2500HD Duramax
2010 Cruiser 26RK

Me_Again
Explorer II
Explorer II
Old-Biscuit wrote:

Vent line is blocked due to poop pyramid buildup inside tank

This one is it 99.99 percent of the time. Chris
2021 F150 2.7 Ecoboost - Summer Home 2017 Bighorn 3575el. Can Am Spyder RT-L Chrome, Kawasaki KRX1000. Retired and enjoying it! RIP DW 07-05-2021

Dave_H_M