cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Buying a used motorhome

Crad09
Explorer
Explorer
I am almost ready to purchase a 2013 Thor Freedom Elite 21c motorhome. It has 55,000 miles and seems to be in really good condition. Since it is from a personal owner I can't get a pdi. I looked for some obvious problems and it didn't seem to have any, but what do you guys recommend I make sure to check thoroughly before purchasing it. I am a newbie in the rv world and need some advice. Thanks!
15 REPLIES 15

Denrclif
Explorer II
Explorer II

We were hunting for a while and found that a lot of used rvs sellers were pricing their RVs like they were still new! Glad you scored that Arctic Fox—$17,000 for a 2013 is pretty solid, especially since it didn’t leak or have any delamination issues. We also had to pass on a few that looked fine but had hidden problems like soft floors. The winter camping aspect is great, and I’m sure it’ll hold up nicely with the Fox’s insulation. 

Wasn't sure if you were aware that you're responding to a post that's 7 years old.

Jeff - 2023 FR Sunseeker 2400B MBS

Deb_and_Ed_M
Explorer II
Explorer II
Trackrig wrote:

I would. If it's cold there, then rewinterize it and have the owner show you how to - it will be a good learning experience and test things in the process. You'll learn where the hot water tank bypass is and if it has a hose on the water pump to suck RV anitfreeze directly from the bottle.

Bill

ESPECIALLY this^ My experience has been that Thor (and some others) put their water pumps in some fairly inaccessible areas on the smaller RVs, and winterizing could be a lot more work than it *should* be? So watch this process closely. Since you live where temps can get quite cold, easy winterization is critical.
Ed, Deb, and 2 dogs
Looking for a small Class C!

ol__yeller
Explorer II
Explorer II