cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Engine water temp-What is considered high?

frankiebIII
Explorer
Explorer
Hi all,
I have a 2005 Monaco Diplomat with a 400 hp Cummins diesel, I have owned it for 4 years. It has been problem free and runs great. However, the 4 times I have taken it over the Grape Vine steep grade the engine water temp creeps up over the 200 marker. When it gets to about 225 I start to hear a faint squelching/light beeping sound from by my left leg. As it gets to about 230ish it becomes a full blown beeping sound like when a car door is left open on an automobile. No warning lights come on and my RV is equipd with a engine warning light, a check engine light and a Stop Engine light. As I go down hill the beeping slowly fades as the engine cools until it goes to a light squelch and then disappears. I am assuming this is some sort of warning.

Is it a warning?
Does anyone else get this warning?
Is my engine running too hot?
What can I do to bring the temp down when going up a hill as I do have the peddle all the way down? Should I drop my speed to a crawl like the semis do?
Should I pull over and let engine cool and if I do that do I rust sit and let it idle or turn off engine after it idles a few mins?

Thanks for any education you can offer!
2005 Monaco Diplomat Quad Slide
Toad 2013 AWD Ford Explorer
Air force one Brake controller
Falcon All terrain tow bar
30 REPLIES 30

11178adm
Explorer
Explorer
I am surprised you didn't get a check engine light at 230.