cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

On line bill paying?

maddawg46
Explorer
Explorer
Plan on traveling a lot. Signed up for electronic bill paying with my bank. I have an I pad that I use now to access my account. Ran into some folks that use a " hot spot " with Verizon for security. I have AT&T. Do I need to worry about this? If I use my ATT 4 g data plan and login to my banks secure system, then why do I need some additional security device.
I'm new to this, so inputs are greatly appreciated.
2016 Newmar Bay Star 3124
Wife and 2 Yorky's
Pontiac Vibe GT as the toad
20 REPLIES 20

wa8yxm
Explorer III
Explorer III
maddawg46 wrote:
Plan on traveling a lot. Signed up for electronic bill paying with my bank. I have an I pad that I use now to access my account. Ran into some folks that use a " hot spot " with Verizon for security. I have AT&T. Do I need to worry about this? If I use my ATT 4 g data plan and login to my banks secure system, then why do I need some additional security device.
I'm new to this, so inputs are greatly appreciated.

The HOT spot lets them do it from their laptop instad of the Pad you have.. The security level is slightly higher the way you are doing it.

Here are the security issues:
Most RV parks, McDonalds, and such the Wi-Fi can be hacked, or a Psuedo node can be set up so when you pay your bills. the hacker gets all your info.. however with "Secured" connection this is much harder to do since the data flowing between your computer and the Wi-Fi Router (The Hot Spot is a Wi-Fi Router) is encrypted... Then the data flow between the cellular device (A hot-Spot is a cellular device) is also harder to snag due to the way Cell devices work.

In your case you are skipping Wi-Fi entierly.. So that's a whole level of security higher than what your friend's "hot spot" provides.