cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Question About Slight Water Damage Above Cab

SarahElizabeth
Explorer
Explorer
My boyfriend and I are COMPLETE newbies to world of RVing. We've owned our rig for five days now and while we've already learned a lot we have a ways to go.

While cleaning it today we noticed a possible leak and some mild water damage in the bunk above the cab. We've had heavy rain on and off so we don't know if it's a new problem or not. My question is:
Who do we go see about that? I'm guessing it's not a normal mechanic - right? We can't even figure out the appropriate wording to throw at Google to get answers.

Help? :? :? :?

Also - is this the end of the world? I'm sort of freaking out about it. :E
8 REPLIES 8

Jim_Shoe
Explorer
Explorer
FWIW,
I ordered my 'C' new through a local dealer. As soon as it arrived, they called me to take a tour. They explained that their standard inspection would take a couple of days. As a precaution, they removed the chrome molding around the marker lights, caulked, and then reinstalled them. They pointed out that the factory installs the lights with electric screwdrivers and its easy to over tighten, causing hair line cracks around the lights. Mine was OK.
BTW, every few weeks, they invited all new purchasers to one of their huge garages. During the meeting, they divided us up into groups of As, Bs, Cs, TTs and FWs, and one of their employees walked us through every step of daily operation. Followed by names being drawn to go to the table in the back and take one of the items of our choice. Not expensive stuff, but something we'd probably buy anyway.
They have a store on site for items unique to RVs and a catalog of less popular items that they will order. And, perhaps more important, they have garages for repairs with lifts big enough to raise a Class A.
Retired and visiting as much of this beautiful country as I can.

my440
Explorer III
Explorer III