cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

valve stem points inside on rear dual tires?

Cooncatz
Explorer
Explorer
I purchased a 98 Four Winds Class C in December and it has been parked since I brought it home. The snow is about gone so I wanted to check the air in the tires; but the valve stem on the rear outside tires are pointed inward and I can't see the stems on the inside tires - I assume I will have to crawl under the unit to check them.

Is this unusual - are the tires mounted incorrectly - is there a fix for this.
thanks
44 REPLIES 44

j-d
Explorer II
Explorer II
burlmart wrote:
I am no mechanical engineer (though 11 yrs of service work on an RV oughta be worth some kind of certification!), but i recal from engineering mechanics-dynamics a term Iw^2 about rotary inertia. 6" of metal sticking out from a 16R wheel spinning along at 60mph does not immediately appear to be a good idea.

If you want to rig something up, Borg shows replacement "stabilizers" on the webpage, available separately. The inner stem in Borg's kit for Ford is about 7" long, and calls for the stabilizer in the hand hole of the outer wheel.

Your time doesn't have to be worth all that much $/hour before it makes sense to get something that smart people figured out to do the job.

I suppose those "airless" extenders, properly supported, would be OK, still on metal valves.

Another thing I cannot recommend is attaching extender hose brackets to the wheel simulators. Usually the hub cover part of the simulator... If a simulator wants to come loose and fly away, I want it GONE! Not flailing around on an extender hose, beating up the coach body, then finally separating and possibly letting the air out of a tire.
If God's Your Co-Pilot Move Over, jd
2003 Jayco Escapade 31A on 2002 Ford E450 V10 4R100 218" WB

jjrbus
Explorer
Explorer