cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Big Easy Time Again!

KLO
Explorer
Explorer
Almost Thanksgiving time and needing some advice from those who have a "Big Easy" cooker. I've been doing my turkeys in them for several years and have a consistent problem that I know is in something I'm doing wrong, just can't figure out what! The turkey browns up beautifully but never done near the center. I've been putting it in breast up and leaving the lid cracked so it didn't get to hot. Is that the problem, the lid or what, HELP please, we really don't like bloody turkey!!!
16 REPLIES 16

KLO
Explorer
Explorer
Wish I could brine the turkey but most brine's I have seen involve a lot of salt. The DH and I are both on low sodium diets due to blood pressure issues. If anyone has a recipe for a low sodium I would be glad to give it a try!

goreds2
Explorer
Explorer
Cooked a turkey on the Big Easy over the weekend. Another success! 8.5 minutes per pound does the trick placed on the medium heat setting. Your results may vary. 🙂
See Picture In My Profile
I have a 1989 Dodge XPLORER RV Class B - Purchased 10/15/10 IN CASH
Fiance' purchased a Class C 2002 Dynamax Carri-go on 5/1/15 IN CASH
We've got the best of both worlds

4X4Dodger
Explorer II
Explorer II
For my money still the best turkey is one that has been BRINED first. Then Cooked BREAST DOWN in the oven. In the last 30 minutes turn the Turkey over to brown the breast.

All the juices run into the breast making it the moistest Turkey you will ever have, it browns beautifully and is done all the way through...

But directly to your issue with the Big easy...BRINE the turkey first, then lower the temps/gas and cook longer.

Us_out_West
Explorer
Explorer
Super_Dave wrote:
Is there a reason that the only thing that I've ever seen posted here from the Big Easy is poultry?

Maybe because it's called an "oiless Turkey Fryer" and most maybe only do poultry or don't take photos of anything else they do.