cancel
Showing results forย 
Search instead forย 
Did you mean:ย 

Geezer question about cell phone stuff

showme
Explorer III
Explorer III
I have a really embarrassing question to ask, and since I've always gotten good advice on here about my technical questions, I thought I'd ask you knowledgeable folks for an answer (Please promise not to laugh- I've searched the internet, and still can't figure this out). Ok, this has to do with my phone bill, and gigabyte usage, specifically. I, myself, refuse to get a "smart" phone, preferring my antiquated Samsung 'slider' (it even takes pictures!!) dumb phone, so I am really way behind in what most of you consider status quo. Here we go...
My phone gets and receives phone calls, texts and takes and sends/receives pictures. That's about all I know about it. Apparently, there's a way to hook up to the internet, because sometimes I hit the wrong button and an AT&T thingy starts spinning around, at which point I frantically try to shut it off, or just slam the thing shut, hoping it will go away. My wife, on the other hand, has a smart phone, which my daughter gave to her, and she's on it constantly, either playing word or "criminal" detective games, checking the weather, using the GPS and who knows what else. Our phones are through our daughters plan, which worked good while our daughter lived in Seattle, so they could talk stay in touch. We pay her $80 a month to have us on her plan.