cancel
Showing results forย 
Search instead forย 
Did you mean:ย 

Opinions on Kaspersky AV

covetsthesun
Explorer
Explorer
I've been browsing the posts and see a lot of names I'm not familiar with. I'm also not even close to being a tech person. I've been relying on the Geek's for years. I currently have Kaspersky AV on my computer... I pay for it annually.

Recently I spent a few hours on the phone with the Geeks who cleaned up my computer and removed a "start up" virus.

I'm thinking I should get more informed about how to deal with my pc and clean it up myself. Also... Kaspersky did NOT pick up on the start up virus. So I'm a bit disappointed in that.

Suggestions? I have a 2008 HP Pavillion pc and Vista Home Premium, IE9.

cts
16 REPLIES 16

fugawibill
Explorer
Explorer
I second Avast. As a former tech, I recommend visiting dotTech

1SG
Explorer
Explorer
I am currently using Kaspersky and it allowed malware to infect my computer. Tried several free malware removers with not much success. Finally used Webroot SecureAnywhere and it removed the infections and working in conjunction with Kaspersky my computer has been free of virus' and malware.

Paul
Paul & Sandy
2018 Tiffin Allegro Bus 40AP
'56 Ford Customline Victoria
'62 Chevy Impala SS 409/4spd
U.S. Army Retired
Cloverdale, OR

ctpres
Explorer
Explorer
No virus program I know of can protect against the first wave of infections. Virus co's may find it own their own or it may be reported by infected users. Then and only then can they develop a block and then they must get it out to all paid subscribers and then subscriber must go online to get updates. Depending on popularity of the infection source a lot of computers can become infected before update arrives. In other words - if you are one of the first - no virus program can help. True they might stop basic techniques but serious threats seldom follow old ways. As with many things in life - you get the quality you pay for.