cancel
Showing results forย 
Search instead forย 
Did you mean:ย 

Generator

garmp
Explorer II
Explorer II
Got our new B+ nine months ago and only have been on a couple of trips so far, due to health reasons, but my question is how often should I run my generator? We've never use it, but to start it once, as we're always plugged into shore power. Don't want the thing to go bad on me, especially when we might need it. And I need to know the winterizing procedure.

thanks
Our 2351D Phoenix Cruiser, Jack, has turned us from campers into RVers and loving it!
15 REPLIES 15

DownTheAvenue
Explorer
Explorer
Matt_Colie wrote:
The machine that was run only once (one thermal cycle) drained of fuel and fogged so none of the internal bare metal gets a chance to corrode.

Your assertion is that the engine drained of fuel and properly fogged will be in better shape stored than one run periodically. That may well be true, and not being an engineer, I would probably agree with that statement.

But therein lies the problem and the answer why Onan says run it every month. Almost every RVer has no way to properly and completely drain the fuel and a means to properly fog the engine for long term storage.
Almost every Onan and RV service center does not have the equipment or talent to accomplish what you propose. Therefore, their recommendation satisfies the need to keep the fuel from totally evaporating, gumming up the fuel system, and dispersing any moisture. Their recommendation meets reality, not theoretical.

Also, there is the issue of the generator components not addressed in your post.

Lynnmor
Explorer
Explorer
Matt_Colie wrote:

Now, let me ask a question.
After a year, which do you believe will be in better condition?
The machine that was thermal cycled every month and left with old fuel and oil in it. (Even in a desert environment, the combustion by-products left in a cylinder will cause corrosion.)
Or