cancel
Showing results forย 
Search instead forย 
Did you mean:ย 

Need help on decision on buying TT for long term living

just_do_it
Explorer
Explorer
Hello, I'm new to TT, recently took a job that requires alot of travel. Instead of staying in hotel after hotel I'm looking at buying a TT. I live by myself, but with so many options its confusing on where to start. i will be pulling the TT with a F150 eco boost truck.
Can I please get some responses to my questions.

Thanks in advance.
10 REPLIES 10

tatest
Explorer II
Explorer II
phone fumble duplicate
Tom Test
Itasca Spirit 29B

tatest
Explorer II
Explorer II
You have a lot of choices with a F-150, up to about 25 feet (200 sq ft living area). Larger than that, you get into lightweight construction methods, which can be problematic for four season living.

I know people who live for extended periods in molded fiberglass TTs as short as 13 feet (about 65-70 sq ft), a bit cramped for me, and others who struggle with the 400 sq ft maximum that defines for HUD the difference between a RV and permanent home. I know a few that have lived in the 40-50 sq ft in the back of a van, or the smaller space of a tuck camper.

I suggest you start looking at the living arrangements in TTs of various sizes to find what meets your living space needs. Once you find a size, try to find it built well enough for long term, year round living. That part will be harder, and the cost might have you rethinking economics of TT vs hotels, since you are probably going to be paying rent for the place you set up your TT.
Tom Test
Itasca Spirit 29B

spoon059
Explorer II
Explorer II
Something not yet mentioned... most travel trailers are designed for light duty use. The furniture, appliances, fabrics etc are not designed to handle the wear and tear of everyday use. You would have to get an "Extended living" RV (heavier and more expensive) to have one that will hold up over time.
2015 Ram CTD
2015 Jayco 29QBS

Grit_dog
Nomad III
Nomad III