cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Should I be worried about an RV that is too long?

abednego
Explorer
Explorer
The wife and I are going to get an RV within a few months. We're going back and forth on the length that would be appropriate. Based on our non-negotiables (king sized bed w/bunkhouse) the models that I like are closer to 40'. I am curious as to what I should expect when towing such a vehicle.

Would a 32' TT be easier to maneuver than a 40' FW? I have no experience towing an RV; furthermore, I'll be buying a truck to tow this. I say this to indicate I do not currently own or drive a truck.

Given my lack of experience, is it a bad idea to get a 40' FW? I live in the Denver area and we're looking at local/CO campsites for fun on weekends and longer trips as vacations up to South Dakota/Utah/Wyoming.

I realize that I'll need to practice driving around locally which is not a problem. I can give the wife a walkie-talkie for guidance. Me personally I'm not worried at all. I'll learn. The wife feels a bit different and doesn't want the RV experience to become cumbersome and not fun for the family. I plan on getting a Ram 3500 Mega-Cab SRW with 4.10 gears.

Your help and advice is greatly appreciated.

Thanks,

-abe
50 REPLIES 50

abednego
Explorer
Explorer
Veebyes wrote:
Ummm, you wanna check your weights again? Sounds more like a trailer only weight.

Truck, I think, is around 8000 pounds, the TT is around 9000 (2013 model). Add the family of four, bunch of gear, fuel, water, etc. etc. etc. I thought 19,000 was reasonable.

Geez, if that trailer weighed 19,000 pounds... Holy crap. 😉 I think it's only rated to carry about 1500 pounds. Lemme look... Ah, here it is. The GVW for the trailer is 9950, so... Yeah, it's the truck plus the trailer.

Goostoff
Explorer
Explorer
K3WE wrote:
pianotuna wrote:
Hi,

Think about where you wish to park. A 40 foot unit may not fit into places such as National Parks, or State Parks.

X2...