cancel
Showing results forย 
Search instead forย 
Did you mean:ย 

Black & Grey tank chemicals - What do you use ?

Dakota98
Explorer
Explorer
I'm using Calgon & deorderizer in the black tank now. What else can I do ?
I'm an expert in only one field....I believe it's somewhere in Kansas.

2000 / 22' SKYLINE NOMAD LITE
1998 DODGE DAKOTA / 5.2L= 8mpg.
2006 POLARIS ATV
1500/1200 Watt Champion generator
Yada Wireless Back Up Camera
1998 Dyna Wide Glide
USMC 68-74
42 REPLIES 42

mrw8i
Explorer
Explorer
I'm not shy, my sh!t3 stinks. Use plenty of water and an off the shelf deodorizer. The gray water is nasty as well, don't use anything in there; maybe I should.

TechWriter
Explorer
Explorer
2gypsies wrote:

We dry camp a lot and one thing you could do is to save your dish water for when you need to flush 'heavy' stuff. Pee doesn't require extra water.

Our dish water typically ends up in the black tank. However, since our black tank is smaller than our gray tank, dish water also ends up in our gray tank.

Anyway, we find that occasional use of bleach in both tanks is still necessary.
2004 - 2010 Part Timer (35โ€™ 2004 National RV Sea Breeze 8341 - Workhorse)
2010 - 2021 Full Timer (41โ€™ 2001 Newmar Mountain Aire 4095 DP - Cummins)
2021 - ??? Part Timer (31โ€™ 2001 National RV Sea View 8311 - Ford)
www.rvSeniorMoments.com
DISH TV for RVs

rondeb
Explorer
Explorer
Use the orange one (smells orange) from Walmart and use the gray water product they also have. I put Calgon in both the Gray and Black. The Calgon is a water softener and helps stop the hard water build up in the tanks.

stetwood
Explorer
Explorer
H20 (water)

2gypsies1
Explorer
Explorer
TechWriter wrote:

While I think flushing with plain water is the best method, it's not always possible. Not everyone camps at full hookup sites so unlimited tank flushing isn't always possible.