cancel
Showing results forย 
Search instead forย 
Did you mean:ย 

Complete Newbie Needs Straight Talk

ricks99
Explorer
Explorer
Wife and I are longtime tent-campers trying to upgrade to a travel trailer. We're looking at something in the 15-17' range (such as Starcraft AR-One, R-Pod, etc.) weighing under 3,000.

Since my current vehicle (Ford Fiesta) wont tow *anything* I know I need to get a truck capable of safely towing a camper. I've tried to do my homework, but I'm going crazy...GVWR...GCW...axle rating...tongue weight...gear ratio...transmission coolers...

I've seen plenty of trucks in my price range ($10K) that I *think* will work (F150, Excusion, Silverado 1500, Yukon) but I've been unable to make an exact determination. The sellers sometimes have no idea what gear ratio the truck has. Or if the installed hitch is a "load distributing" hitch. Etc.

With the small size trailer we're looking at, can I safely assume that nearly any full-size vehicle with a V8 will work? Is there anywhere online that I can simply plug in a vehicle VIN and get a "you can safely tow XXXXX" determination?
2008 Dodge Ram 1500 (aka Rusty)
2017 Kodiak 172e Hybrid (aka Roxy)
26 REPLIES 26

patchelect
Explorer
Explorer
Bravo to ricks99. I discovered that my '01 Dakota could pull 5000# in part because it has a 3.93 rear as well. I recently had the hitch, brake controller and tranny cooler installed. Hopefully by spring I'll be looking at a trailer in the 14-16' range that should suit our needs and desires.
Paul
1969-1970 University of Viet Nam 11B. I was drafted. Agent Orange is still killing and maiming in Viet Nam.

ReneeG
Explorer
Explorer
mkirsch wrote:
The "load distributing hitch" would not be installed on the truck, so you don't need to ask about that anymore. One less thing to worry about.