cancel
Showing results forย 
Search instead forย 
Did you mean:ย 

Cruise control or not

Goodpete
Explorer
Explorer
I am fairly new to towing and I just thought about using cruise control when towing. I have taken several trips in the last year and realize that I have never used it while towing. Do you use it? Are there any concerns when doing so, other than the obvious?
36 REPLIES 36

glazier
Explorer II
Explorer II
I use it as much as I can, it makes for a much easier trip IMO.
2017 Grand Design Momentum 328M
2015 Chevy 2500HD LTZ Duramax CC/SB/4X4
B&W Companion Slider

DustyR
Explorer
Explorer
kaydeejay wrote:
Sure do, as much as possible.
I have to believe if the Manufacturer did not want us to use it when towing, they would deactivate cruise control when Tow/Haul is selected.
To the best of my knowledge no-one does that.

X-2
The only time I DO NOT USE CRUISE is on rainy or slick road. I just completed a 2100+ mile drive and was on Tow/Haul and cruise the entire time, except for heavy traffic and slick/rainy road. I probably could get better mileage using the foot throttle, but at what cost. I still can react to traffic situations just as quickly when necessary while on cruise. My Duramax is equipped with a turbo brake and I was able to experience it in action when the vehicle in front of me reduced speed drastically for a deer.
2016 Open Range 319RLS
Tow Vehicle: 2008 Silverado 2500 HD
Duramax, Allison Transmission.

Community Alumni
Not applicable
Two things I use all the time are Tow/Haul and cruise.

Mr_Beebo
Explorer
Explorer
The last three Tow vehicles I have owned I did not use the cruise at all, unless on long stretches of flat land. My experience is that the cruise will cause the tranny to downshift much more and accelerate more harshly to maintain speed than I will on my own. I average about 1 to 1 1/2 mpg less when using the cruise control. That said, it is much more relaxing to have both feet on the floor.
2010 Rockwood Roo 23SS