cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Frontal Area

JVFLDF
Explorer
Explorer
I am brand new to RVing, and want to be safe and comfortable.I have a 2018 Nissan Frontier Crew Cab 2wD. Max towing Capacity is 6300lbs Tongue Load 630lbs. Max GCWR 11,250lbs. I found expandables well under these ratings, I figure 1000 lbs under to be safe. The maximum trailer frontal area is 30square feet. Yipes.. Is there a formula to compensate for this frontal area? I couldn't even find a pop-up with a frontal area that small. I had the Frontier set up with a tow package when I purchased it and it has a class 4 hitch. I have read so much about frontal areas that all it has done is lead me to more confusion. Any help (clarification) would be greatly appreciated.
34 REPLIES 34

gmw_photos
Explorer
Explorer
Yep, Marty, I even did some towing with a '67 Chevy with a 283 and a 2-speed powerglide. Then in the '70's towed with numerous GM cars and station wagons with small block V8's and THM350 and one big block with a THM400 trans.
We've come a long way.

You wanna try towing with a dog, we used my brother's mid 70's Chevelle wagon with a 307 and a THM350. We pulled our boat with that quite a bit.

blt2ski
gmw photos wrote:
mkirsch wrote:
When I'm towing, I'm not in a race, so I don't mind having to run at slower than non-towing speeds, and I'm willing to accept the 8 to 12 mpg I get with the trailer back there.

When I started towing, I said that too. However, after a few years of crawling up hills with my little maybe-4000lb trailer behind a 4.8L V8 engine, the fun factor fizzled. I found that I was DREADING going places instead of looking forward to it, because I was going to have to drag that %$#@ trailer along, and drop down to 35MPH any time I hit a decent hill.

My guess is that there are more people like me than like you, who would prefer being able to at least somewhat keep up with traffic.