cancel
Showing results forย 
Search instead forย 
Did you mean:ย 

My Hitch Won't Let Go Of My Ball

DallasSteve
Nomad
Nomad
I just picked up a new 36 foot Jayco trailer. The tow vehicle has a 2 5/16" ball. I took it off the lot and towed it to my first campground and I/we had a devil of a time unhooking the hitch. Since I was a rookie the park manager sent over their maintenance guy to help. We raised up the electric jack (after he undid the latch) and it raised and raised. Pretty soon it was raising the back end of my truck. We tried my putting it in reverse for the smallest of movement. He tried jumping on the bumper. He called over another friend who lives in a trailer there and he sprayed it with some WD-40. Finally he said the jack was running up to its limit so he brought over some blocks to put under the jack. We tried again and it did a great job of raising the truck, but the hitch held onto that ball. Finally he jumped on the truck bumper again and it wiggled free.

Has anybody else had this problem? Is there a solution we were missing? Is it dangerous to be raising the back of the truck like that to either the truck or the electric jack?
2022 JAYCO JAY FLIGHT SLX 8 324BDS
2022 FORD F-250 XL CREW CAB 4X4
All my exes live in Texas, that's why I live in an RV
9 REPLIES 9

2oldman
Explorer II
Explorer II
LITEPHIL wrote:
The truck either has to roll back slightly or the trailer forward since the ball is pushed forward into the coupling when latched
He did that.
"If I'm wearing long pants, I'm too far north" - 2oldman

Grit_dog
Nomad III
Nomad III
90% chance you had the truck and trailer in a bind. It happens. Just another learning curve thing.
Be careful if you attempt to pull the pin on the receiver and drive out of it. That works well โ€œifโ€ you know what to look for or get lucky and donโ€™t have it jacked so out of sorts that it binds in the receiver. You risk dragging the trailer if bound up.