cancel
Showing results forย 
Search instead forย 
Did you mean:ย 

Reese dual cam question?

NWKomfort350
Explorer
Explorer
Today I installed the dual cam sway control onto my wdh. It all installed nicely. Well, I think it went well. My one concern is when turning left or right the system is very loud... it goes pop pop pop... but loud sometimes just one pop other times a few. It seems to be louder when turning left . I assume that's only because its driver side. Is this sway system usually quite loud? I have nothing to compare it to. This is my first time using sway control....
Chris & Stephanie
2 kids - 1 boy / 1 girl
Winston (boxer)
2016 Open Range Roamer 367BHS
13 F350 6.7 CREW LONG BED SRW
B & W Patriot

02 F350 7.3 SC LB SRW - SOLD
2014 Keystone Cougar 281BHS - SOLD
17 REPLIES 17

Ron_Gratz
Explorer
Explorer
Your F-350 is not a 1972 Buick, it does not need to have the front end lower than unloaded when using a weight distributing hitch. In fact, with your trailer, it probably needs very little.---
Most people who buy a Dual Cam use it for two purposes --

1. for weight distribution and

2. for sway control.

The Dual Cam relies on WD bar load to generate yaw resistance. The greater the bar load -- the greater the yaw resistance.
If you're not distributing load to the front of the TV, you're not going to have effective sway control.

It's probably true that the OP's F-350 does not need full restoration of load to the steer axle based solely on axle load considerations.
However, if the OP wants a significant amount of sway control, he does need to have a significant amount of load on the WD bars.
And that means he would be getting a significant amount of load distribution.

Ron

CampingN_C_
Explorer
Explorer
phenrichs wrote:
Not sure on your TT weights but with a heavy truck like that you are using the WDH and Dual Cam more for balance and sway control than actual weight assistance like some lighter trucks need.

X2
2018 Ram 3500 DRW CCLB Aisin 4.10 4x4