Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Rv Cover use with Solar Question

E_mc2
Explorer
Explorer
Hello all,

For starters I am not putting the rig away for the year yet, but eventually I am going to have to. Probably next year we are going to purchase the metal carport style to park under, but the cash flow just aint there to purchase now. So, that leaves me using a tarp to cover it for the winter. Is there anything I need to know about covering the solar panels up? I am very new to the solar thing and dont want to make any mistakes. My plan is to cover it up and then plug it in so the batteries stay up. Any information is much appreciated.

Thanks
2007 GMC Sierra 2500
2009 Weekend Warrior Superlite
B&W Companion
2006 Arctic Cat 650 H1 (x2 His and Hers)
An Awesome Family!
13 REPLIES 13

Ski_Pro_3
Explorer
Explorer
I have a cover on my camper with 100 watts of solar panels on the roof. With the cover on, the panels will develop 2 amps of current at 13.5 volts. That's PLENTY to keep the battery voltage up.

Here is the cover I am using;

http://www.amazon.com/Classic-Accessories-80-036-143101-00-PolyPro-Deluxe/dp/B0019ZLPLS/ref=wl_it_dp...

MelinProv
Explorer
Explorer
I have a cover and a area that I cut a hole in it for solar which is covered by a clear plastic that's fairly thick ( think hoop house 20 mil thick )it gives me no troubles. If the weather was better here I would just put my panels outside on the ground or on a mount with a cord going back inside my unit. I have to replace the plastic every 3 or 4 years based on how long it lasts on other things outside but have only used it 2 years now

hmknightnc
Explorer
Explorer
For storage just fully charge your batteries before putting the RV away and then disconnect the batteries. They will stay charged for months.

E_mc2
Explorer
Explorer
camperpaul wrote:
Why not cover it with clear plastic and let the solar panels maintain the battery charge.