cancel
Showing results forย 
Search instead forย 
Did you mean:ย 

Weird question re: emergency procedures while driving

dieharder
Explorer
Explorer
Out of my entire family, I am the only one that drives. DW and, for now, DD do not have driver's licenses, nor do they have any desire to obtain.

DW finds it strange that, every once in a while, I want to go through what they would need to do in the event that, heaven forbid, 'something' happens to me while we're rolling down the highway (take control of the wheel, shifter into neutral, etc.).

Does (or would) anyone else do this if they're in the same scenario? To me, it seems like, if I don't go through this with them, they would have no idea what to do if something unfortunate happens since they have never driven.
1999 Itasca Sunrise
37 REPLIES 37

Crowe
Explorer
Explorer
Well, let me tell you the little womans side of it. I dont drive the MOHO. I am a good driver. But, everytime I drive and my husband is always complaining. I figure that thing is 40 ft diesel towing a GMC acadia. He makes me so nervous that Just in the car with me driving I want to just park that thing and get out and run away. So, if you are "one of those" , get a life. You are getting exactly what you have earned.

Unfortunately many people (I won't just say men) don't recognize themselves as being like that.

A suggestion: One of the most nerve-racking situations for anyone is having a spouse or parent teach them something. Take advantage of any truck/cdl/mh driving classes that might be available. For many having the confidence prior to getting behind the wheel with a significant other in the passenger seat makes all the difference.

I may not have gone where I intended to go, but I think I have ended up where I needed to be

Douglas Adams

[purple]RV-less for now but our spirits are still on the open road. [/purple]

Bigdog
Explorer
Explorer