cancel
Showing results forย 
Search instead forย 
Did you mean:ย 

50A rigs and wire sizing

RVnRobin
Explorer
Explorer
A post yesterday about a burnt neutral wire got me to wondering...
If;
A 50A rig has all 120v appliances and loads,
A 120v 10A load will measure the same amperage draw on both the hot side and the neutral side,
A properly wired 50A service will measure 240v from L1 to L2,
And L1 and L2 will each measure 120v to neutral,
50A load max on L1 and 50A max on L2,
The neutral is shared with both,
The load amps from each of the hot lines are additive on the neutral,
Potential load on the neutral wire could max out at 100A.

Question;
Why isn't the neutral wire at least a #2 as per the wire sizing charts?
Wouldn't cords need to be constructed with two #6 for each of the hot lines, one #2 for the neutral, and then the ground?
Is this why we see neutrals frequently have heat damage?

I'm not an electrician. I know rarely both L1 and L2 would run at max. But the amperage charts seem to be pretty clear about what "code" requires.
So much to experience, so little time.
18 REPLIES 18

Horsedoc
Explorer II
Explorer II
I have been here for years and for years I have always marveled at how many "right" posts concerning wiring come up.
I have never seen a neutral breaker - not saying there is no such thing, but apparently there are a lot of folks that didn't pay a lot of attention like me.
horsedoc
2008 Damon Essence
2013 Jeep Sahara Unlimited
Blue Ox tow

LittleBill
Explorer
Explorer
mena661 wrote:
My RV.

and every other residential wiring design

i think our world is a little bit bigger then bob's

red31
Explorer
Explorer
Bob Landry wrote:

Under your scenario, there should only be one breaker for a 30A input since the hot is protected.

Yes and one for 20A, two for 50A

I think wolfie was correct in suggesting the thread be closed!!!

time2roll
Nomad
Nomad