cancel
Showing results forย 
Search instead forย 
Did you mean:ย 

Basic battery charging and solar question

Boins
Explorer
Explorer
I have a Surveyor 245BHS with 2 6v batteries wired in series. The RV dealer told me that when I'm plugged in to charge, the trailer doesn't recognize when the batteries are fully charged and will keep charging. Off season, I always remove the batteries and periodically set 'em up with a battery tender.

If the trailer does over charge, what is a simple option to create an automatic cut off once the batteries are charged.

Also, I do a lot of dry camping and don't have a generator (I don't need to run the appliances or AC). Is there a simple solar setup that just gives a trickle charge to the batteries while camping? I'm not expecting a solar setup that does a fast recharge, just a trickle.

I'm new to this aspect of battery maintenance and just don't know what things I need to do this properly.

Thanks!
50 REPLIES 50

Boon_Docker
Explorer III
Explorer III
:R

mike-s
Explorer
Explorer
If you don't understand how proper quoting works, your problem, not mine.

Almot
Explorer III
Explorer III
mike-s wrote:
Almot wrote:

And a lot of misquoted lines too :)...
For future reference, a quote is what's inside the quotation marks. I started with your comment because it was simply wrong, then expanded because other were, too.

You used my quote and added what wasn't there, i.e. 50W and no controller, - all in the same line. And went on commenting and interpreting from there.

As to what exactly was "wrong", i.e. why 15W panel is capable of much more than maintaining 2*6V flooded bank in storage - I'm lost here. If you read the linked article again, it doesn't really tell whether 225 AH wet bank would need max 6W or 12W array to float (if used on a sunny day without controller).