cancel
Showing results forย 
Search instead forย 
Did you mean:ย 

External screws and silicone

Camper1977
Explorer
Explorer
Hello, if you have trim areas / caps such as the electric cord cap with screws holding it to fiberglass wall ( external) and they are coming out what is a good solution ?
All I'm concerned with is the cap flying off and is there concern with water damaging the area where the cap sits. I noticed there has never been any silicone around that cap, but thinking maybe I can put some around it to help support that cap and prevent water from entering. Thoughts, ideas ? Thanks I'm new to campers. Bought this new 9//2015
Kz spree escape 17TH
19 REPLIES 19

Bumpyroad
Explorer
Explorer
Almot wrote:

"Marine" designation should be taken with a good drain of salt, no pun intended. Besides, splashing or submersing is not the same environment as subjecting to UV, high ambient temps and vibration.

Boats are subjected to a double dose of UV light, from above and reflected up from the water. additionally pounding on waves produces quite a vibration.
bumpy

grizzzman
Explorer
Explorer
Dave H M wrote:
Walaby, you are wasting your time posting that kind of thought here. :W

I do not tell anybody that I use silicon all the time on certain applications on the RV.

Then all are happy. :B

Well good thought. My 2016 trailer has silicone in many places from the manufacturer. But I digress, like any chemical, if you don't know how to use it, then you should not use it! ๐Ÿ˜‰
2019 Ford F150 EcoBoost SuperCrew
2016 Rockwood Mini Lite 2504S. TM2030 SC2030
640 Watts Solar. Costco CG2 208 AH and Lifepo4 3P4S 150 AH Hybrid. ElectroDacus. Renolagy DC to DC charger. 2000 Watt Inverter.
Boondocking is my Deal

Camper1977
Explorer
Explorer
Now this.... need help. My KZ Spree escape TH 17 rear ramp door has been going me issues closing it. It looks as if the door lines up higher than the frame. This was not an issue until my last 2 trips and it's getting worse. Any ideas suggest