Showing results forย 
Search instead forย 
Did you mean:ย 

Fan lid direction and covers

Germax
Explorer
Explorer
Hello!

I am new to RV thing and I noticed that my 2008 Majestic 23A has strange vent configuration. Two vents that are in main space are passive and they open so that air when traveling is pushing lid down.
The Fan-tastic fan lid in washroom is in reverse direction. It acts as a scoop if one forgets to close it before moving.

--------> Travel direction / (Fan-tastic vent) \\ (other two vents)

I figured out that is just something that I must remember to close but now that I am looking for vent covers I am realizing that they will not work with that orientation.

So questions, is orientation for the fan lids matter of choice or was the person that installed my bathroom fan impaired?

I think I will have to rotate Fan-tastic fan if I have hope to find the lid that will allow it to open once installed.

What is best fan cover for Fan-tastic, I see some bad UV resistance reviews for the original covers.

Thanks!
12 REPLIES 12

Germax
Explorer
Explorer
Thanks everyone, I will be fixing this myself when the covers arrive.

Johno02
Explorer
Explorer
The installer was impaired. His brain was installed backward. Get a qalified person to remove the fan and install it properly.
Noel and Betty Johnson (and Harry)

2005 GulfStream Ultra Supreme, 1 Old grouch, 1 wonderful wife, and two silly poodles.

dougrainer
Nomad
Nomad
Your Fan was installed WRONG. The HINGE for the lid cover is facing FRONT, always. ALL RV's are this way. The reason The fan is reversed is because someone probably replaced the old roof and just plain installed it backwards. There is NO reason to install backwards. It will catch air when closed and in transit and will break the lid off if left open and in transit. Doug

Germax
Explorer
Explorer