cancel
Showing results forย 
Search instead forย 
Did you mean:ย 

Fridge temp discussion about lower compartments

wopachop
Explorer
Explorer
There was a thread last week about bluetooth thermometers and i ended up buying the RV Whisper setup. I like it a lot and spent a few days testing sensors side by side. The temp readings where always very close between 4 sensors.

I started playing around with them and noticed how the lower compartments of my dometic absorption fridge are often over 40F while the rest of the fridge is at 36F.

There were times i would store meat in those compartments because i felt they are easy to clean and sanitize.

I do have a small fan blowing inside the fridge. Suppose its reasonable to think removing the flat plastic cover on the shelf would help airflow and decrease the temps inside the compartments. I will definitely test that.

Posted a few screenshots. One temp sensor was inside the freezer and i moved to the lower compartment. The other temp sensor was on the top shelf of the fridge and i moved it to the same lower compartment.

I did that yesterday and opened the fridge maybe twice. It ran all night and this morning the lower compartment temps are still 40f while the rest of the fridge is 36f.

Fridge is running on electric. Plugged into 50amp and voltage is high.

10 REPLIES 10

wopachop
Explorer
Explorer
Turned focus to humidity and the compartments have been consistently lower than the rest of the fridge. Meaning they are working backwards as humidity is supposed to be higher.

I see no benefit to that flat separator on the lower shelf.

fj12ryder
Explorer III
Explorer III
Waeco is now Dometic according to what I read.
Howard and Peggy

"Don't Panic"

prichardson
Explorer
Explorer
Not familiar with the Waeco brand, but the Norcold commonly used in the marine applications typically are about 4amps with a 50% duty cycle.

dougrainer
Nomad
Nomad