cancel
Showing results forย 
Search instead forย 
Did you mean:ย 

Onan Generator Problems

martipr
Explorer
Explorer
I can't help but notice how many posts on this and other forums are Onan problems and was wondering if it there might be so many because of poor reliability or because there are so many in use? Years ago(in the early 70s) I worked in the contractor's supply business and the contractor's Onan generators were very reliable.
Old Navy Chief (AOC) Retired Aircraft Mechanic/Inspector
2007 29' 27FBV Trail Bay V Series
2015 Dodge Ram 2500 Crew Cab 6.7 Cummins Diesel
Reese Strait-Line Dual Cam Hitch
10 REPLIES 10

Kpackpackkelley
Explorer
Explorer
I belive when they introduced electronic boards the vibaration hurt them.
Some claim the gasoline this days gums up the carb. Finding cheaper components to stay competitive didnt help matters either.

Sandia_Man
Explorer II
Explorer II
When you are the go to generator for every RV manufacturer in the USA your product will obviously gain more attention. Onan makes an RV generator second to none and although there are other generator manufacturers (Honda & Yamaha) they can not engineer a product that could dethrone the market dominator.

Our current rig is 7 years old and our Onan has over 700 hours of reliable service under it's belt. We simply change oil and filters yearly and she purrs along happily supplying 120Vac just as if we were plugged into shorepower. We add Stabil and an occasional bottle of Seafoam and even use whatever ethanol laced fuel is most economical with never an issue with carburation or fuel delivery.