cancel
Showing results forย 
Search instead forย 
Did you mean:ย 

Pex crimpers

TurnThePage
Explorer
Explorer
My new trailer is a hodgepodge of different plumbing. It's obvious that incorrect materials are mated together in various places. I would like to consolidate and make it all pex so I don't have to worry about leaks, but I have zero experience with pex fittings and tools.

Just looking for enlightenment and suggestions. Some areas are going to be pretty difficult to access and I don't want big bulky tools borking it all up.
2015 Ram 1500
2022 Grand Design Imagine XLS 22RBE
10 REPLIES 10

bobsallyh
Explorer II
Explorer II
I too use Flare-It. Easy peasy. If you have the spreader tool it makes it easier especially if you have old fingers. I carry a supply of different fittings.

StirCrazy
Navigator
Navigator
I plan on re doing all the plumbing in the camper if we decide to keep it and not upgrade it. What I am doing is also the same and getting rid of the hodgepodge of plastic fittings and useless 1/4" lines and unreliable cone seals and switch to pure pex with proper brass connectors. this also involves changing things like taps and such out to proper residential ones but the benefit of that is you won't have as many issues with freezing in the winter and proper pex will handle the freezing but it's usually the plastic connectors in rv's that die. Im not saying I won't have to winterize but it would let me just use air and if a tiny bit of water is left in a line somewhere it shouldn't cause an issue

Your best bet is to try to build it in sections and pull it into place so you're making final connections where you have more space but that's only if your layout allows that. Otherwise look for the smallest crimper you can find. you will only need a 1/2" one so look for something like
THIS
2014 F350 6.7 Platinum
2016 Cougar 330RBK
1991 Slumberqueen WS100

Bobbo
Explorer II
Explorer II
jkwilson wrote:
There are downsides to 100% Pex.