Search instead forย 
Did you mean:ย 

Using Dryer's NEMA 14-30 outlet for RV shore power

audiodane
Explorer
Explorer
Hey folks,

UPDATE:
Skip all the banter and jump to the CURRENT PLAN using this link!

Original Post:
I've been reading lots of posts about using dryer hookups for RV shore power at home and lots of them are outdated (using the older NEMA 10-30 outlets). This question is about the newer NEMA 14-30 hookups.

(Edited to add this DISCLAIMER: For the sake of clarity, I am a degreed electrical engineer with ~20yrs experience and have worked around electricity my entire life. I have done plenty of wiring jobs at my own house and at the houses of friends and family. I understand electricity and the risks involved significantly well. I do plenty of electrical work, but do draw the line at installation of a new subpanel or main service entrance. ๐Ÿ™‚ I believe this thread is entirely useful for others who may wish to install a NEMA 14-50 outlet in their garage (whether for their RV or their Tesla). But, if you are not qualified to work on electrical systems, PLEASE do not take this thread as a suggestion that such a job is easy and without significant risk. I will not, nor will any other contributor to this thread, be responsible for anything you do as a result of this thread.)

For reference..

OLD style:
Link: Wikipedia NEMA 10 Style
Example:

NEW style:
Link: Wikipedia NEMA 14 Style
Example:

My house (build circa 2007) has the newer style NEMA 14-30 connector. When I put a multi-meter on it, it measures like this:

That seems to me equivalent to the necessary 50A hookup on an RV (albeit with only 30A's "actual"):

It also seems to me that I could use a 2-phase (DPDT) 30A switch to switch between my dryer outlet (inside) and a RV outlet (garage), using a switch such as the Leviton 1288 to switch power between the dryer and the garage outlets.

Leviton 1288: